If I were a Hip hop song

 Music has always been part of my life and when I usually say “take away my phone and leave my music”, I mean every word of that statement. This might be surprising especially in an era where social media is taking away all our time and attention. But I just know I will choose music over a lot of things. When it comes to music I am suddenly excited and my face literally lit up when I am talking about music or listening to it. My encounter with music dates back to my lonely days as a kid listening to music through the giant speakers my uncle uses for his “spinning” business.

I grew up listening to all genre of music and would find it difficult to choose one genre of music over the others. I listen to gospel, Hip-life, R&B, pop, Blues, reggae etc. and sometimes jazz. However one genre that is not very much my favorite is hip-hop; not only is it fast paced with a lot of unrefined statements and strong language, it sometimes disrespect women and sexualize us, but that said there are still so many hip-hop songs I like either for the beat or chorus or the simple fact that I enjoy the song and sometimes I really can’t tell why I like a song. If the song speaks to me I am good to go. I must add that I have an ear for good music and quite a number of people have said so.  

Have you ever wondered if you were a song how you wound sound like? Well I have and below are five songs that I would have sounded like if I was a hip-hop song.

1.  CROOKED SMILE-J COLE

blogger-image--715359911

 Just listening to the lyrics of this song paints a clear picture of what women put themselves through to look picture perfect. We will go through any length of discomfort to look good and yet when we are told we look beautiful we don’t even believe it. Below are the part of the lyrics that tells me the truth as a woman;

 “We ain’t picture perfect but we worth the picture still.”

 “Oh, you a woman? I don’t know how you deal

With all the pressure to look impressive and go out in heels

I feel for you

Killing yourself to find a man that’ll kill for you

You wake up, put makeup on

Stare in the mirror but it’s clear that you can’t face what’s wrong

No need to fix what God already put his paint brush on”

 “To all the women with the flaws, know it’s hard my darling

You wonder why you’re lonely and your man’s not calling

You keep falling victim cause you’re insecure

And when I tell you that you’re beautiful you can’t be sure

Cause he don’t seem to want you back and it got you asking”

 

2.   SIGNS-SNOOP DOGG FT JUSTINE TIMBERLAKE

artworks-000056655468-73jerq-original

 

The truth about this song is that I hardly know the lyrics of this song but the smooth sound of Justin Timberlake’s voice mixed with that “one in a million” voice of uncle Charley makes me want to be this song if I was a hip-hop song

3.  THROUGH THE WIRE-KANYE WEST

imagesCAF4LHWU

 Yes I use to love Kanye West before he went “mad” and this was the song that started our romance. I think the tragic story behind this song was what made me love it. The chorus is awesome.

4.  MY LIFE-THE GAME FT LIL WAYNE

My_Life_singlecover

 This song appeal to me in a funny way especially the chorus which reminds me of family and friends I have lost but usually I am dead scared of singing it out loud for the fear that God will take my life( sounds funny but it’s the truth). Read the lyrics and you would

And I’m grindin’ til I’m tired
They say “You ain’t grindin’ til you tired”
So I’m grindin’ with my eyes wide
Looking to find
A way
Through the day
A life
For the night
Dear Lord, you’ve done took so many of my people but I’m just wonderin’ why
You haven’t taken (my life? x3)
Like what the hell am I (doing right? x3)
(My Life x3)

 5.   ASAP ROCKY-F**KN PROBLEM

imagesCAOKNE50

 This is the type of song you don’t want your parent to catch you listening to and yet you would. I don’t understand a word they say but I know there is a lot of explicit content but I love the entire rap but the swearing is too much but I can’t help it. I like it.

So wondering what I would sound like as a hip-hop song? I guess the good, the bad and the ugly. There you have it but I still would sound like a lot of other songs.

 

 

10 thoughts on “If I were a Hip hop song

  1. I don’t listen to rap/hip hop much especially when it’s an abundance of profanity. A friend told me to listen to Crooked Smile, and I loved the message. That’s the only song out of the list that I actually know. Creative, Sheila

  2. comprehensive, concise and very enlightening.
    crooked smile is jux a classic track….as for kanye the least said the better. i think his ‘ego thing’ began after his mum passed away….am sure his mum was serving as a ‘moral Check’ in his career

  3. Great piece once again and you know Sheila’s on the bounce again. What else can I say? Hip hop has come a long way, stayed true to itself and not just a stock on the shelf. It’s died several times with cheesy lines that focused on nothing but rhymes. Content got compromised for the most with ghostwriters dictating the game for wannabe rappers. But I won’t deny the fact that hip hop is surviving or better still thriving. It was good you issued the disclaimer that it wasn’t your favorite so your taste, preferred tracks, wouldn’t come under attack – a very important caveat on the champagne-popping, caviar-munching fraternity.
    And oh, this wasn’t supposed to be a pep talk. Didn’t even know how it turned into a pep rally. Guess that’s my f**king problem, right?

I'd love to hear from you, leave a comment here

