Daily Prompt: Third From the Top- Letting Go

Me after letting go of my permed hair.

Me after letting go of my permed hair.

My mom barbering my hair

My mom barbering my hair

CIMG2141

 

Head to “Blogs I Follow” in the Reader. Scroll down to the third post in the list. Take the third sentence in the post, and work it into your own.

Today’s challenge is one that was meant for me, why? Because it described the situation I am going through today.  Immediately I went to blogs I follow and scrolled to the third post, third sentence, this is the words that were staring at me:

‘’I reached out to her to write about letting go and how hard it can be. Here are her words of wisdom on this difficult subject: Shrimp, chives, and mayonnaise’’ (quoting from the blog: TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperman from a guest blog Wise Before 25)

Reading this sentence made me realize at a point in life you just have to let go of certain things not because you want to but because they no longer form part of what the future holds for you. Nobody is saying letting go is easy, it has never been but sometimes it is all you have to do to gain peace and sanity. I am too young to lecture anybody on the process of letting go.

Today I had my own experience of letting go (even though I have done some letting go in the past); I broke up with my permed hair. It was one of the most difficult break ups I have experienced.

I have permed my hair since I graduated from senior high school and I came to identify with my permed hair as part of my looks and have had permed hair throughout my university days. It was therefore emotional when I decided to cut it and grow my natural hair especially in an era of Brazilian and human hair extensions (most Ghanaian women would understand this).

Friends discouraged me( just like some do when you want to leave your abusive relationship) and I was not sure myself but I knew at some point I wanted this relationship with my permed hair to end and it took me four months to finally cut my hair today. Like most happenings in my life my mother was part of it (she actually did the barbering for me) and stood by me.

I still miss my permed hair but like a bad relationship it is over and I am letting go.

Let me know what you think of letting go. Leave a comment.

9 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Third From the Top- Letting Go

  1. I think you look beautiful with the short, natural hair! I love how you compliment your new look with the big, beautiful earrings and beautiful smile. 🙂 I think the best part of not having permed hair is that you’ll be able to spend less time worrying about your hair getting wet. LOL! No more spending extra time in the morning trying to curl it, etc… And you’ll save money by not going to the hairdresser or spending money to buy perm solution for your hair every couple of weeks, etc… Great choice! 🙂

    • you are right, so much weight of my shoulders, I actually cut my hair because the perming creams ended up destroying the growth of my hair. i was thinking i will go back to permed hair some day BUT I love my hair right now, i dont think i will go back to permed. Cheers!

I'd love to hear from you, leave a comment here

