Weekly Writing Challenge: Icon- The Navrongo Catholic Church

Poto Credit: Ann Schunior
Poto Credit: Ann Schunior
Photo Credit Ann Schunior. Design depicting the last supper
Photo Credit Ann Schunior. Design depicting the last supper
Photo Credit: Ann SChunior. Outside view of the church
Photo Credit: Ann SChunior. Outside view of the church
Photo Credit: Ann Schunior. Design depicting a woman pounding millet
Photo Credit: Ann Schunior. Design depicting a woman pounding millet
Photo Credit: Ann Schunior interior  of the church were i use to play as a child
Photo Credit: Ann Schunior
interior of the church were i use to play as a child

I am a Ghanaian who was born and bred in the northern part of Ghana, a place called Navrongo. For the most part of my life I was brought up by my grandmother. My grandmother was a stanch catholic and since she went almost everywhere with me, Sundays were no different. I would always tag along to church every Sunday. Most kids my age would be taken to Sunday school but I hated Sunday school, I preferred to be by my grandmother so that I could always collect money and buy a lot of goodies that I wanted and roll on the ground since it was always so cold. Listening to the sermon was out of the question. I remember vividly the look of disdain on the faces of other church women who wished I was forced to go to Sunday school but my grandmother would have none of that.

When the weekly writing challenge came up asking bloggers to write a story or describe something iconic I instantly had flash back about the Navrongo catholic church not only because it held a lot of memories for me but also because of its splendid architecture. I was however sad because I now live so far and did not have pictures, then I did what most people will do; I goggled the church and thanks to Ann Schunior I had pictures that remaindered me of my childhood and how I use to rub my hands on the designs of the church as a child. Thanks to her pictures I can now share with you all the iconic church from my hometown.As a child and an adult I have been fascinated by this church.

My grandmother told me stories of how the church was built and how the designs were made by local women in the region. They used local dyes, cow dung and some chalk like stones (as a kid I use to play with those stones drawing on any wall I could reach). Today a new church has been built in order to accommodate the increasing numbers of church members but the old church is still very much a part of Navrongo and people visit it just to admire the architecture.

4 thoughts on “Weekly Writing Challenge: Icon- The Navrongo Catholic Church

    • Thanks for making the time to read. You should visit this church and marvel at the skills of this local women and the beauty of the region. I can only say am trying to be a better peson.

I'd love to hear from you, leave a comment here

